Guide to Tuscany

Find travel information for your vacation trip to Tuscany: It contains tips and advice that are regularly checked and updated.

This information page comprises of Driving directions from offers of the Tuscan culture to practical travel tips Information and advice for your vacation in Tuscany. In addition, we try to give you an impression of Tuscany so that you can better plan your future vacation trip or "Tuscany tour".

Why should I go on vacation in Tuscany?

Tuscany is "different". The nature, the people, the climate and the culture form a very special mix that makes Tuscany a worthwhile travel destination within Europe. The recreational value. Withdraw and relax. You can relax in a holiday home on a hill. The Italian way of life and style combine here to form a very special combination. Be it art and architecture; but also in culinary terms the guest encounters expressions of centuries of tradition. Tuscany is famous for its buildings, but also for its bread, olive oil, cheese and special spices. People don't miss out here - not just on vacation!

The Tuscany vineyards definitely stand up to the comparison with good French wine-growing regions. However, a direct comparison with international wines would be wrong. Tuscan wines convince with their own variety and their special note. Here he likes Chianti maybe a "typical" Tuscan wine, but it is certainly not the only one. Try it yourself!

Cities & Places

Pisa in Tuscany

The student city of Pisa

Pisa is one of the most beautiful cities in Tuscany. The student city is not only famous for its leaning tower, but also attracts ...
Continue reading …
Prato in Tuscany

Prato - city of the modern textile industry

The city Dishes is in the heart of Tuscany. The city with around 194.000 inhabitants is the capital of the province of the same name ...
Continue reading …
Pistoia

Pistoia

Only about 35 km from Florence away Pistoia. The city with its 90.000 inhabitants is more of an industrial city. You ...
Continue reading …
Castiglione della Pescaia

Castiglione della Pescaia

The community Castiglione della Pescaia is located in Tuscany, directly on the Maremma coast on the Tyrrhenian Sea and belongs to the province ...
Continue reading …

Other cities & places

Tuscany has a lot to offer:

Arrival in Tuscany: How to get there easily

Tuscany is a popular destination for tourists from all over the world. The travel region between Rome and Milan impresses with its unique ...
Continue reading …
Fill with water at the campsite

Drinking water quality in Italy on the campsite

When camping, water is scarce most of the time. To save yourself half the camper or the car ...
Continue reading …
Caravan in Tuscany

With the caravan through Tuscany

Holidaymakers in Tuscany can quickly reach the many interesting cities and beautiful beaches that promise bathing fun with a caravan ...
Continue reading …
Sunset in tuscany

The variety of landscapes in Tuscany

Tuscany encompasses a multitude of different landscapes with partly completely different vegetation. This is how the rugged Garfagnana differs in ...
Continue reading …
Monte Prado

The Monte Prado

The Monte Prado (2054 m) is the highest mountain in Tuscany and is located in the Apennines, a 1500 km long ...
Continue reading …

A sailing trip in Tuscany: explore the Tuscan archipelago

Would you like to be far away from everyday stress? Lean back and relax, leave all worries behind, enjoy the sun and discover new things? ...
Continue reading …
Campsite on Elba

Camping holidays on the island of Elba

Elba is the ideal holiday destination when it comes to camping holiday acts. Camping holidays on the Elba-Island fulfills every wish, ...
Continue reading …
home napoleon, island of elba, italy

Excursion tips and sights on Elba

Elba is not only a very nice place to find relaxation, it also offers a lot more. The sights on ...
Continue reading …

Arrival in Tuscany

Although almost everyone now uses a navigation system in their vehicle, it makes perfect sense to deal a little with the travel route. The shortest route to Tuscany is not always the fastest or the most beautiful. So we offer you several possible Travel routes through Switzerland, through Austria and Northern Italy to get to your destination in Tuscany by car.

At the same time, we will inform you about the most important country-specific rules and, above all, about the road toll that has to be paid in Austria, Switzerland and Italy. Of course, it shouldn't last Italian Road Traffic Act (StVO) missing - we try to present the most important content briefly and clearly, and of course to keep this as up-to-date as possible.

Arrival tips

switzerland tuscany route1

Switzerland: possible routes

Travel route through Switzerland via Zurich / Bellinzona: Tuscany is located on the west coast of Italy. It is therefore advisable to come from the west ...
Continue reading …
austria tuscany route1

Austria: travel routes

Possible travel routes through Austria: Please note that the motorways in Austria are subject to tolls. You can also reach the Brenner motorway, which is subject to a charge ...
Continue reading …
STVO in Italy

Italy: StVO

Essentials of the Italian road traffic regulations Status: December 2019 In Italy, fines can be higher than in Germany. To you ...
Continue reading …

Overview

Information worth knowing

Toskanatour provides you with further tips, e.g. which plugs fit in Italian sockets? Can I easily use my mobile phone in Italy? Are there any books related to Tuscany and what are the historical backgrounds of Tuscany? (The History of Tuscany is very interesting indeed).

What do I do on vacation in Tuscany?

When you arrive on site, it is of course a matter of making the most of your (vacation) time and enjoying it. We present a selection of events to you, such as the annual "historic" bike races Eroica, as well as a list of recommended local Festivals and processions.

There is also information about shopping, as there are differences to Germany in terms of shop opening times, public holidays and other details. Also the most important Weekly markets and Outlets we introduce you.

Please visit our website for more information about activities. Like visiting the most beautiful Tuscan beaches, historical places, some of which are part of the world cultural heritage, but also tips for sightseeing flights and boat tours.

Active vacation

If you like to exercise, there are many possibilities in Tuscany: nature parks invite you to hike in unspoilt nature, but also cycling, playing golf and of course motorcycling are available in Tuscany.

If you want to relax afterwards, you can do one of the many thermal baths visit, which are spread over Tuscany.

Of course, culture shouldn't be neglected and we want to live up to the name of our website: We offer you a selection "Tuscany tours" to give a first impression of the most important stops in Tuscany.

Visit the cities Siena, Florence, Lucca, Pisa, Livorno, Saint Gimignano, Pienza and Grosseto and let yourself be inspired in a humorous way by Mark Twain - he described his impressions of Tuscany over 100 years ago. After a long day, Tuscany offers you a variety of culinary specialties - especially of course the wines for which Tuscany is so famous.

2020-03-03

Reiseführer Toskana

Finden Sie Reiseinformationen für Ihre Urlaubsreise in die Toskana: Enthalten sind Tipps und Hinweise, die regelmäßig überprüft und aktuell sind.

Diese Informationsseite umfasst von Anfahrtsbeschreibungen über Angebote der toskanischen Kultur bis hin zu praktischen Reisetipps eine umfassende Auswahl an Informationen und Ratschlägen für Ihren Urlaub in der Toskana. Darüber hinaus versuchen wir, Ihnen einen Eindruck über die Toskana zu vermitteln, damit Sie ihre zukünftige Urlaubsreise bzw. „Toskanatour“ besser planen können.

Warum Urlaub in der Toskana?

Die Toskana ist „anders“. Die Natur, die Menschen, das Klima und die Kultur bilden einen ganz besonderen Mix, der die Toskana zu einem lohnenswerten Reiseziel innerhalb Europas macht. Der Erholungswert. Ziehen Sie sich zurück und entspannen Sie. In einem Ferienhaus auf einem Hügel gelegen kann man die Seele baumeln lassen. Italienische Lebensart und Stil verbinden sich hier zu einer ganz speziellen Kombination. Seien es Kunst und Architektur; aber auch in kulinarischer Hinsicht trifft der Gast auf Ausdrücke Jahrhunderte alter Tradition. Die Toskana ist berühmt für ihre Bauten, aber auch für ihr Brot, das Olivenöl, den Käse und die besonderen Gewürze. Hier kommt der Mensch nicht zu kurz – nicht nur im Urlaub!

Die Weinberge der Toskana halten dem Vergleich mit guten französischen Weinanbaugebieten durchaus stand. Der direkte Vergleich mit internationalen Weinen wäre aber falsch. Toskanische Weine überzeugen durch ihre eigene Vielfalt und ihre besondere Note. Hierbei mag der Chianti vielleicht ein „typischer“ toskanischer Wein sein, er ist aber sicher nicht der Einzige. Versuchen Sie es selbst!

Städte & Orte

Insel Montecristo

Insel Montecristo

In Italien gibt es viele Geheimtipps. Doch Traumhäfen in winzigen Dörfern oder rustikale Restaurants sind unspektakulär, wenn man sie mit ...
Weiterlesen …
Panorama auf Capraia

Insel Capraia

Mitten im Kanal von Korsika gelegen befindet sich die wunderschöne Insel Capraia. Es handelt sich um die drittgrößte Insel im ...
Weiterlesen …
Prato in der Toskana

Prato – Stadt der modernen Textilindustrie

Die Stadt Prato liegt im Herzen der Toskana. Die rund 194.000 Einwohner zählende Stadt, ist die Hauptstadt der gleichnamigen Provinz ...
Weiterlesen …
Pistoia

Pistoia

Nur etwa 35 km von Florenz entfernt liegt Pistoia. Die Stadt mit seinen 90.000 Einwohnern ist eher eine Industriestadt. Sie ...
Weiterlesen …

Weitere Städte & Orte

Was Toskanatour Ihnen bietet:

Ponte Vechico

Weltkulturerbe in der Toskana

Weltkulturerbe in der Toskana Neben Rom ist es in Italien vor allem die Toskana, die mit weltweit bekannten kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten ...
Weiterlesen …
Dolphins Atlantic La Palma

Wale und Delfine im Mittelmeer

Man schätzt, dass es etwa 15 verschiedene Arten von Walen und Delfinen im Mittelmeer gibt. Alle diese Arten sind stark ...
Weiterlesen …
Skulpturenpark Chianti

Der Skulpturenpark Chianti

Kunstobjekte aus aller Welt sind im Skulpturen Park in Chianti zu sehen. Das harmonische Zusammenspiel von Kultur und Natur ist ...
Weiterlesen …
Siena in der Toskana

Siena – Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten

Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten in Siena machen die Stadt im Herzen der italienischen Toskana zu einem sehr beliebten Urlaubsziel. Die Toskana, insbesondere ...
Weiterlesen …
Viareggio an der Küste der Toskana

Reizvolle Küstenlandschaft Versilia

Die Versilia ist sicherlich die mondänste Küste der Toskana. Dennoch eignen sich diese landschaftlich so pittoresk in die Apuanischen Alpen ...
Weiterlesen …
Florenz

Florenz und seine 70 Museen

Eine Städtereise nach Florenz ist wie eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Neben prunkvollen Bauwerken, uralten Brücken und zahllosen Gotteshäusern beherbergt ...
Weiterlesen …

Anreise in die Toskana

Obwohl mittlerweile fast jeder ein Navigationssystem in seinem Fahrzeug nutzt, macht es durchaus Sinn, sich ein wenig mit der Reiseroute zu beschäftigen. So ist nicht immer die kürzeste Strecke in die Toskana auch gleich die Schnellste oder die Schönste. So stellen wir Ihnen mehrere mögliche Reiserouten durch die Schweiz, durch Österreich und durch Norditalien vor, um mit dem Auto an Ihr Ziel in der Toskana zu gelangen.

Gleichzeitig informieren wir Sie über die wichtigsten länderspezifischen Regeln und, vor allem, über die Straßenmaut, die sowohl in Österreich als auch in der Schweiz und Italien zu bezahlen ist. Natürlich darf zuletzt nicht die Italienische Straßenverkehrsordnung (StVO) fehlen – wir versuchen, Ihnen die wichtigsten Inhalte kurz und übersichtlich darszustellen, und dies natürlich stets möglichst aktuell zu halten.

Anreisetipps

schweiz toskana route1

Schweiz: mögliche Routen

Reiseroute durch die Schweiz über Zürich/Bellinzona: Die Toskana liegt an der Westküste Italiens. Es empfiehlt sich daher, aus westlicher Richtung ...
Weiterlesen …
österreich toskana route1

Österreich: Reiserouten

Mögliche Reiserouten durch Österreich: Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Autobahnen in Österreich mautpflichtig sind. Auch die kostenpflichtige Brennerautobahn erreichen Sie ...
Weiterlesen …
STVO in Italien

Italien: StVO

Wesentliches zur italienischen Straßenverkehrsordnung Stand: Dezember 2019 In Italien können Bußgelder höher sein als bei uns in Deutschland. Um Sie ...
Weiterlesen …

Zur Übersicht

Wissenswerte Informationen

Toskanatour versorgt Sie mit weiteren Tipps, z.B. welche Stecker passen in italienische Steckdosen? Kann ich problemlos mein Handy in Italien benutzen? Gibt es Bücher mit Toskana-Bezug und was sind die historischen Hintergründe der Toskana? (Die Geschichte der Toskana ist in der Tat sehr interessant).

Was mache ich im Toskana-Urlaub?

Vor Ort angekommen geht es natütlich darum, die (Urlaubs)Zeit möglichst gut zu nutzen und zu genießen. So stellen wir Ihnen eine Auswahl an Veranstaltungen vor, wie beispielsweise das jährliche „historische“ Radrennen Eroica, sowie eine Auflistung empfehlenswerter örtlicher Feste und Prozessionen.

Auch über das Einkaufen gibt es Informationen, da es beispielsweise hinsichtlich der Ladenöffnungszeiten, Feiertage und anderer Details Unterschiede zu Deutschland gibt. Auch die wichtigsten Wochen-Märkte und Outlets stellen wir Ihnen vor.

Weitere Informationen über Aktivitäten erhalten Sie auf unserer Website. Wie der Besuch der schönsten toskanischen Strände, historischer Orte, die teilweise zum Weltkulturerbe gehören, aber auch Tipps für Rundflüge und Bootstouren .

Aktiv-Urlaub

Wer sich gerne bewegt, dem eröffnen sich in der Toskana viele Möglichkeiten: Naturparks laden zum Wandern in unberührter Natur ein, aber auch Fahrradfahren, Golf spielen und natürlich Motorradfahren bieten sich in der Toskana an.

Wer sich danach entspannen möchte, kann eine der vielen Thermen besuchen, die über die Toskana verteilt sind.

Natürlich darf die Kultur nicht zu kurz kommen und wir wollen dem Namen unserer Website gerecht werden: Wir bieten Ihnen eine Auswahl an Toskana-Touren an, um einen ersten Eindruck der wichtigsten Stationen in der Toskana zu vermitteln.

Besuchen Sie die Städte Siena, Florenz, Lucca, Pisa, Livorno, San Gimignano, Pienza und Grosseto und lassen Sie sich durch Mark Twain auf eine humorvolle Art inspirieren – er beschrieb seine Eindrücke über die Toskana bereits vor über 100 Jahren. Nach einem langen Tag bietet Ihnen die Toskana eine Vielzahl kulinarischer Spezialitäten – ganz besonders natürlich die Weine, für die die Toskana so berühmt ist.